Choosing Your Path: Exploring Types of Product Managers

When I first started learning about Product Management, I thought all Product Managers were cut from the same cloth. I believed that as long as you had the necessary skills like communication, problem-solving, and some technical knowledge, you could succeed in the role. But as I learned more, I realized there are different types of Product Managers, each with their own unique skills and responsibilities.

My mentor encouraged me to explore the different areas within Product Management and think about which type of Product Manager I wanted to be. I was hesitant at first because I didn’t want to limit myself, but she explained that mastery in one area would do more good than spreading oneself too thin and lacking expertise.

As I researched, I discovered interesting types of Product Managers:

  • Growth Product Managers: They help products grow and become more popular. They work with different teams and use data to make the product more successful.

  • Product Marketing Managers: They make sure people know about a product and want to buy it. They create messages, ads, and content to show how great the product is and organize events to introduce it to the world.

  • Product Development Managers: They are like team leaders who make sure a product gets made correctly. They know a lot about the technical side of things and make plans for how the product will be created and launched.

  • Product Owners: They are in charge of making decisions about what a product should do. They use special ways of working, like Agile and Waterfall, to develop the product step by step. They also keep an eye on the business side of things and make sure everything goes smoothly.

  • Data Product Managers: They work with products that use a lot of data. They analyze and organize data to improve the product and make sure it works well.

  • Technical Product Managers: They are experts in technology and work on products that use advanced things like AI or computer programs. They are really good at understanding complex things and making these products for industries like science or math.

To discover your own interest, try this exercise my mentor shared:

  • Write down the skills required for different types of Product Managers.

  • List their responsibilities and the problems they solve.

  • Reflect on your skills and interests to choose a suitable role.

Once you’ve chosen a vertical, you can develop your skills by taking relevant courses, working on projects that align with your chosen role, and finding mentors who have experience in that area.

Choosing a specific area in Product Management has given me clarity and focus. I now know where I want to go and what skills I need to develop.

So, if you’re a Product Manager or want to become one, take some time to think about the type of Product Manager you want to be. Consider your skills and interests, research different areas, and then focus on becoming an expert in your chosen domain. Remember, it’s better to master one thing than try to do everything.

Bye, for now.